396 miles, 2 brides (plus 2 aunts and a cousin), 2 bridal shops, 4 grande coffees and one fantastic cheeseburger.

I am absolutely beat. Yesterday I left the office at abou 7 a.m. on my way to Little Rock for a day of meetings. Eleven and a half hours later I returned home.

I started with a meeting at Java Roasting Company on Chenal Parkway in Little Rock with a perspective client. We sat and talked for nearly an hour, discussing different options and possibilities. This particular bride was accompanied by two of her aunts and one cousin. We had the most incredible time, laughing more than we actually discussed what I do and how I do it. It was a beautiful start to a great day.

While there, I had the pleasure of meeting a newly engaged bride-2-B. Alison has recently gotten engaged and sadly, had to leave before I had an opportunity to speak with her. Either way, CONGRATULATIONS to her and I hope she has a beautiful wedding.

So I left the coffee shop, which is a great little shop, and went to David’s Bridal on Chenal. There I met Deana, one of the staff of the store who showed me around the store, searching for just the right dress for a project I have coming up. I was realy amazed by the selection they had in the store. Each of the ladies I met there were more than helpful and answered every single question I had.

Next I made my way to Brinkley, Arkansas. Brinkley, with a population of approximately 3500 is a rather unassuming place to find such a store as Low’s Bridal & Formal. Low’s inhabits an amazing three story hotel that was built in 1913. The original registration desk still stands in the entrance area of the lower level. From the moment I walked through their doors I was in love. The beauty and attention to detail that is shown all over the store is apparent. I was met by a lovely woman with a slight southern accent and introduced to Dorcas Prince, who runs the shop. And she runs it well. I also had the pleasure of meeting her mother and hearing the story behind the chandelier that hangs from the ceiling. Speaking with Mrs. Low was great.

Ok, back on track.

Dorcus arranged for one of the staff to give me a tour of the store. What I learned is…. exactly why brides come from all over the U.S. to shop at Low’s. It seems their one goal is to assist the bride in finding exactly the right dress. They carry sizes up to size 30 with designs by such designers as: Glasgow, Reem Arca, Maggie Sottero, Jim Hjelm, Lazaro, Vera Wang, Monique Lhuillier, Mori Lee and Romona Keveza,,,, plus many others. The range of gowns they offer meets the needs of each and every bride.

I was shown where fittings are done. Oh, on the topic of fittings. Be sure to call ahead for an appointment. They are good, but they are busy, especially on Saturday. Maybe they are so busy because they are so good.

They also cary an extensive line of accessories, veils, Tiaras and shoes.

Two very different shops. Both sharing one thing in common. Both bridal shops know how to make a bride look her best.

I left Brinkley, stayed off the interstate and took Arkansas Highway 17. Finally I found somewhere to eat… I don’t even know what road I was on any longer. Augusta, Arkansas is where I had made it to and I was parked in front of a sign that said “Ralph’s”, with the tag line of “home of the hubcap hamburger”. I had to know more. It was the best cheeseburger that I’ve had in years. No half-hearted beef patty that hid somewhere within the confines of the bun. This thing was a MONSTER. I really wish I’d taken my camera with me just to get a photo of this thing,,,, but I didn’t…. so I ate it. The patty was about 3/4 of an inch thick and stuck out from the bun … everywhere. I may have to take a trip today just to get another one.

I wish I had photos to show, but I don’t. Yesterday was more about meeting people and having fun without carrying a heavy camera body and lens around. Next time, I’ll grab a point and shoot so I’ll have some pics to show.

You know, I felt really ,,, REALLY strange walking around these stores looking at wedding gowns.  It was worth it though.

jb

www.blairweddings.com

~ by jb on August 2, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
